Which K-pop singers are coming back in February?

By Dong Sun-hwa

February is expected to be a month of excitement for K-pop followers, with a myriad of prominent singers gearing up to return. Included in the line-up are Monsta X, SF9 and Loona.

1. Monsta X

K-pop boy group Monsta X will return in February with a fresh album. Courtesy of Starship Entertainment

Monsta X, a seven-member K-pop boy band, will return in February only four months after the release of its latest album “Take. 1 ARE YOU THERE” in October. The team had sweet success with the lead track “Shoot Out” last year, winning a Korean music show for the first time since the group’s debut in 2015.

The septet ― Shownu, Wonho, Minhyuk, Kihyun, Hyungwon, Jooheon and I.M ― also made history on the music scene by becoming the first K-pop group to stage gigs at iHeartRadio’s annual Jingle Ball. They played at concerts in Los Angeles, San Francisco, Minneapolis, Boston and Philadelphia last year.

2. SF9

K-pop boy band SF9 will also return next month. Courtesy of FNC Entertainment

It has taken about six months for boy band SF9 to return with a fresh album, although its agency, FNC Entertainment, said details had not yet been finalized.

The nine-member band comprised of Inseong, Jaeyoon, Zuho, Youngbin, Dawon, Hwiyoung, Rowoon, Taeyang and Chani boasted its masculinity in July with its mini-album “Sensuous.”

In particular, Chani, whose real name is Kang Chan-hee, has risen as a pivotal member of the band after being featured in the JTBC drama “SKY Castle,” one of the hottest TV series in Korea, revolving around the nation’s educational fever.

“Both singing and acting are my jobs and dreams,” he said in a recent interview with media outlets. “As a member of SF9, I hope our group can win on a music show and make the top 100 chart for digital releases.”

3. Loona

K-pop girl band Loona will return with a fresh album. Courtesy of Blockberry Creative

Rookie K-pop girl band Loona is also coming back next month with a dreamy concept. Blockberry Creative, which manages this 12-member group, has already unveiled teasers on its social media, giving followers a glimpse of the upcoming album.

With its first and second teaser videos both featuring butterfly, fans are speculating on its correlation with the upcoming album.

The team’s members ― Hee Jin, HyunJin, HaSeul, YeoJin, Vivi, Kim Lip, JinSoul, Choerry, Yves, Chuu, Go Won and Olivia Hye ― will disclose the entire numbers included in the album on Feb 16 and 17, when they hold the concert at the Olympic Park in Seoul.


You May Want To Read These Next